To the visited countries list To the Concerts list

Concerts in Paris

Related concerts:
Avanntasia Fulda
Avantasia Fulda

Rock Meets Classic France
Rock Meets Classic live 2012

The Land Of New Hope
Release date: May 17 2013

Homepage -> Bands -> CD Reviews -> Timo Tolkki's Avalon -> The Land Of New Hope - album review
< Concerts 2013 > < Album Reviews > Timo Tolkki's Avalon On Tour 2012 >

Custom Search

Bookmark and Share

Genre: Metal Opera
Metal Traveller Rating: (4/5 - Very good)

Buy on
CDs and Bands Merchandising in France and Europe with EMP

Timo Tolkki's Avalon album cover

After leaving Stratovarius, Timo Tolkki has been busy with Symphonia and Revolution Renaissance, but his previous release dated from 2011.
There were even some rumours saying that he might never record again... So, what has Timo been preparing during this time? Well, no more no less than a Metal Opera!

That’s not an easy project! It’s important to have a combination of good songs, vocal lines made for different singers, and a good story.

Regarding the singers, Timo has gathered some great names like Russell Allen (Symphony X), Rob Rock (Impelliteri), Sharon Den Adel (Within Temptation), Elyze Ryd (Amaranthe) and the unique Michael Kiske (Unisonic).

The music is played by renowned performers as well, like Derek Sherinian (ex-Dream Theather, Black Country Communion), Mikko Härkin (Sonata Arctica) and Jens Johansson from Timo’s former band, Stratovarius.
On drums, we’ve got Alex Hozwarth from Rhapsody Of Fire, while Timo himself took care of all guitars and bass lines.


The story is a very interesting concept, which mixes reality and fantasy. It’s set in 2055, as several cataclysms have destroyed the earth, survivors are on a quest for this place called “The Land Of new Hope”.

Musically, I hope you weren’t waiting for a lost Stratovarius album, because it’s not the case.
Basically, it’s a Power Metal album, but Timo explores new sounds, resulting in a very diverse album.

The record starts with Avalanche Anthem, a fast song with a great and surprising chorus. It’s followed by A World Without Us, which is a real highlight. It's going to be the released as a single!

We Will Find A Way is another fast song with a chorus that’s easy to remember, while different singers make To The Edge Of The World an outstanding song.

There are also great softer tunes. Shine is a very good one, but the best example is Enshrined In My Memory. This song is performed by Elyze Ryd and her performance is outstanding. A video clip is already available.

Nevertheless, I think that the last two songs of the record lack some of the strength of the previous songs.
I Sing You Home is a beautiful ballad, but it doesn’t sound like rock.
And finally, the song that gives its name to the album, The Land Of New Hope, had a undoubtedly much more potential.
The song starts with a blasting intro. Then there’s a soft part where Michael Kiske starts to sing. It goes crescendo during the verse and then comes the chorus. These are the first ingredients to have a great epic song. But instead of changing guitar riffs and grandiose solos, the structure of the song is stick to a classic form. It’s still a good song, but it’s a shame because it could have been a much better one!

For his first Metal Opera attempt, I’d say that Timo Tolkki did a good job. Some features could have been more developed, but there’s no doubt that high quality work has been done.
One thing is certain: This is Timo Tolkki’s return and fans won’t be disappointed!

Bookmark and Share

Timo Tolkki's Avalon Line-up:

Timo Tolkki – Guitar and Bass
Alex Holzwarth – Drums
Jens Johansson – Keyboards
Derek Sherinian– Keyboards
Mikko Härkin – Keyboards
Michael Kiske – Vocals
Elize Ryd – Vocals
Rob Rock – Vocals
Russell Allen – Vocals
Sharon Den Adel – Vocals
Tony Kakko – Vocals

Timo Tolkki's Avalon Links:

Timo Tolkki's Avalon Website
Timo Tolkki's CDs on Amazon.comTimo Tolkki's Avalon Amazon
Timo Tolkki's iTunes downloads

Share on Facebook
Submit page to Twitter Tweet this!
Bookmark to Google Bookmark on Google
E-mail this page e-mail to a friend

Tracklist Timo Tolkki's Avalon

01. Avalanche Anthem
02. A World Without Us
03. Enshrined In My Memory
04. In The Name Of The Rose
05. We Will Find A Way
06. Shine
07. The Magic Of The Night
08. To The Edge Of The Earth
09. I'll Sing You Home 10. The Land Of New Hope

Custom Search
< < Timo Tolkki's Avalon concerts > >
< Concerts 2012> < Album Reviews > Timo Tolkki's Avalon On Tour 2012 >
Metal Traveller is powered by:  Live Nation Merchandise Logo   Get Rock Band T-Shirts & Merchandise from  Get Rock Band T-Shirts & Merchandise from  CDs and Bands Merchandising in Argentina and Europe with EMP     Concert Tickets for Argentina, Argentina and the Netherlands  iTunes  Discounted CDs and DVDs on - Free delivery in Europe
Rock concert reviews by Metal Traveller - Countries visited by Metal Traveller
© 2006 - 2013 Metal Traveller - all pictures and contents owned by Metal Traveller - reproduction prohibited without permission